Finding inspiration in a movie…

Hello Hello!

After doing my homework the other night, I stayed up watching “The Man from Nowhere“.  This is a Korean film that pretty much is a man who ends up fighting for a child who lives next door to him.  It reminded me quite a bit of that movie “Léon: The Professional ” with Natalie Portman as the child.

By the end of the film I was sitting here, so jarred by the experience that I ended up sitting there, sketching the little girl from it.  It isn’t perfect but considering I only started drawing again in the last few months, not too bad… This is how it turned out.

So-mi - The Man from NoWhere.

Today when I logged on my wordpress account here, I found this post by ChristyMendy, called Stick Through It: The Fear of a Creative Career.  In it this young girl is determined to follow her own dreams even though the teachers at her school were negative towards it.  Years later, this girl is now graduating from college with the graphic design degree she wanted.  You have to applaud her success.

For years I allowed the people around me, and my own circumstances dictate what life I was living and what I would do with it.  It is nice to see someone so young find their way.  I can only hope my children will learn this early on like she has.  I wish her much success in her future!! I look forward to seeing where she goes from here.

If I remember I’ll post again soon.

~Em

Leave a comment